10th Anniversary of the Convention on Cluster Munitions

December 3rd marks the 10th anniversary of the signature of the Convention on Cluster Munitions.

The 2008 Convention on Cluster Munitions provides the only international framework for eradicating these weapons.Its disarmament provisions comprehensively prohibit the use, production, transfer, and stockpiling of cluster munitions, as well as assistance with any of these banned activities, and require that stockpiled cluster munitions be destroyed within eight years. The convention requires the clearance of areas contaminated by cluster munition remnants within 10 years, and assistance to fulfill the rights of victims of cluster munitions. The convention also calls on countries in a position to provide assistance to help others fulfill their obligations.

Treaty status

To date 123 states have joined the convention, of which 110 are States Parties and the remaining 13 are signatories that have yet to ratify.

More about the treaty:

Country Status

Rollover country to view details \ Click and drag to navigate map



Landmine and Cluster Munition Monitor
and ongoing public updates


  • non-signatory

  • signatory

  • state party

The CMC urges all states to join the convention and promote its norms.

States that signed the convention before its entry into force (1 August 2010) must ratify it to become full States Parties. Non-signatories can join the convention through accession.

The above map shows States Parties, signatories, and non-signatories to the convention. The map also shows countries with cluster munition stockpiles and casualties.

Download the following documents for a list of:


States Parties (110)
Afghanistan, Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Comoros, Congo (Republic of), Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Eswatini, Fiji, France, Gambia, Germany, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Holy See, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Lao PDR, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, North Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Niue, Norway, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, São Tomé and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Slovakia, Slovenia, Somalia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Trinidad and Tobago, Togo, Tunisia, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Zambia.

Signatories that have not yet ratified (13)
Angola, Central African Republic, DR Congo, Cyprus, Djibouti, Haiti, Indonesia, Jamaica, Kenya, Liberia, Nigeria, Tanzania, Uganda.

Non-signatories (74)
Algeria, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Bhutan, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, Dominica, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, Gabon, Georgia, Greece, India, Iran, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, DPR Korea, RO Korea, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Libya, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Mongolia, Morocco, Myanmar/Burma, Nepal, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Syria, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United States, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zimbabwe.